General Musing

blaze your trail

New Face of Facebook

leave a comment »

The time of is over for me, I never really used it to it’s full potential because I found it too busy. People have known for ages not to contact me on it too. I’m starting to get the same feeling about that I had about a year ago about myspace.

Still I do know there is still potential for Facebook to keep me as a customer. In this they have an advantage over myspace.

“Facebook has unleashed a pair of technical innovations that has fundamentally shaped the social media landscape: the first was the personal feed and the second was an open platform for third-party development.”1

It has become a brilliant advertising platform, I discover new interesting people, tools and companies because of Facebook.

I was recently contacted by a recruiter who had seen a trend with the population of business networks. He was was looking for people in the early stages of their career, and he just wasn’t finding them on the traditional websites. I obviously directed him to Facebook and simply told him that is an advert for the person’s skills and experience. People who don’t have this won’t be advertising. Facebook gives people to ability to adapt their profile to orient it more towards a social or business network.

He didn’t realize, he still used Facebook for social contacts and Zombie, Mafia and Dope Wars. And an alternative to keeping contact and reconnecting with friends and family.

  1. What the Cable Companies Could Learn from Facebook

Technorati technorati tags: , , , , , , , ,

Written by Daniël W. Crompton (webhat)

July 2, 2008 at 9:47 am

Please Leave a Reply