General Musing

blaze your trail

Just Finished Reading #books

with one comment

I read so much, and now that I’m studying I read more textbooks too. Moving Pictures. A Discworld Novel by Terry Pratchett is a book I started at least a year ago and put down. My father, who loves Pratchett, had given me his copy to read. So when my last book ran out I thought I should start reading it again.

Now don’t get me wrong – that already bodes – Pratchett is very witty and makes some amazing leaps of the imagination. His prose is concise, easy to read, and sometimes just rolls of the page like poetry. Nothing relies on understanding a particular joke or knowing – in the case of this book – a specific film. I finished the book in 2 evening sessions of a couple of hours with a smattering of travel reading during the days. The book and I, we just didn’t click.

I don’t know whether the fact that the book wasn’t intellectually engaging enough for me, or if it didn’t push me enough to expand my mind. I found it a good read, but a pulp book. I’m guessing it could be the specific book, I find it hard to imagine all Pratchett’s fans are misguided, I just don’t get it. I know from experience sometimes an author or a book – no matter how brilliant the author or book are – and I just don’t have chemistry.

On to the next in the Discworld series.

I’m sure you know a good book for me to read. I read most fiction and non-fiction, classics, pulp, ebooks on how to succeed in networking, papers, magazines, and much more. If there is anything you’d like me to read and perhaps write a brief review about please post it in the comments below.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Written by Daniël W. Crompton (webhat)

September 10, 2008 at 10:12 am

Posted in books

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Just Finished Reading #books (tags: books discworld terrypratchett pratchett review) […]


Please Leave a Reply